Coron-tined

Well, what started as funny meme content has turned to real life all too quickly. Let me start with a quick timeline of events.

Monday, March 9, 2020: It was a normal day. I went to school and did my private after-school class before going to meet a new couple who wanted English lessons. We sat outside on a teraza, drinking and chatting about current events. At this point, the number of Covid-19 cases had been rising at an only mildly alarming rate. We talked about how schools we’re talking about closing, but nothing was sure yet. At the end of our hour long class, I checked my phone. “I have forty messages,” I told them. “So popular,” they joked. I called my friend Cath on my way to meet her for diner, “Are you already there?” I asked. I was running behind. “No, I’m just leaving. I was watching the news.” I didn’t think anything of it, until 5 minutes into our conversation she says, “Oh, you still don’t know…” Within the hour I was teaching, all schools in Madrid had been closed due to the virus. We were left with a series of questions and not a lot of answers. All we knew was the next day we were supposed to come in, and starting Wednesday the kids were staying home.

Tuesday, March 10,  2020: Tuesday was more-or-less normal. I still had to work. I finally called my mom to let her know what was going on. The week before I had received a text  from her asking me to come home for the next six months until everything blew over. I calmed her fears and my own, “Everyone’s overreacting,” until suddenly they’re not. I decided it was best to stay here and ride it out. The kids were a bit crazy, as any kid who was just gifted a so-called two-week vacation would be. The news was still saying that teachers had to come into work without the students, so I went.

Wednesday, March 11, 2020: We had basically been told that we would be able to work from home. So I marched into work, expecting to receive instructions on what I could do at home. Then an inspector called and said all teachers were still required to come into work. The teachers were angry and complained, rightfully so. Why would we need to expose ourselves to the germs in the school and public transport,  if we could do our jobs from home? In typical Spanish fashion, we all went to the bar across the street instead of working. By the end of the day and tons of back and forth, it was confirmed that we could stay home.

Thursday, March 12, 2020: On this day, I realized the situation was bad, but was still partially in denial. I woke up to 2,000 cases in our tiny country. I did my quarantine-shop just in case. I kept calling it “my last day of freedom”. My friends and I hung out in the park and went to dinner. When I got home, I saw the hashtag #yomequedoencasa (I’m staying home) going around. I knew this is where we were heading. The next morning, the number of cases was at 3,200. This changed everything.

And basically, all of this leads up till now. I’ve watched 3,000 changed to 4,000, 4,000 to 5,000, and now just a few days later, we’re just shy of 8,000. As of tomorrow, the government has told us we cannot leave the house for basically any reason except groceries or the hospital. Everything is closed. The streets are empty, and I’m home watching everything happening in Italy as a “What to Expect” manual because I know we are only footsteps behind them. I’m bored out of my mind and am positive that I will not be back at work on March 26th (our current expected return date).

Selfishly, I’m sad because the most beautiful time in Madrid will now be spent inside. I’m not even supposed to see my friends and I’m scared of how everything will affect my mental-health. I like to stay busy. I like to move around. I’m scared I’ll have to leave Spain if this continues. I’m scared of the global impact on the economy and my personal financial situation. Most English teachers in Madrid make a good percentage of their income from private classes. This is where my spending money comes from. Of course, all of those classes have been canceled, and luckily, I have nothing to spend money on from inside my house.  But, I am scared by the uncertainty it all brings. I was supposed to be working in Italy this summer, that now seems like a  pipe-dream. I just landed a job that was supposed to keep me in Madrid next year. I started training last week and now everything is halted.

In spite of my whiny rant, I want to say how lucky I am. Lucky, that I get to stay home unlike grocery workers, pharmacists, doctors, nurses, etc. Lucky, that my main job will pay me during this month. Lucky, to be stuck in the city I love more than anything. Lucky, that I’m in good health, and that nobody I know has been affected yet.

As for my American friends,  listen to what they’re advising. It seems like the are being more proactive (compared to Spain and Italy which have been reactive). It seems silly now, but social-distance yourself before it’s mandatory. Hopefully, you can avoid some of this craziness. It can happen faster than you think.

Wash your hands,

Anna

 

Leave a comment